
 

N.C. Rabies Control Manual – Animal Rabies Vaccination: Q&A for Veterinarians  
August 2016 
Page 1 of 6 

Animal Rabies Vaccination: 

Q&A for Veterinarians 

This document is an updated version (original February 2013). 

Veterinarians at the 2011 N.C. Veterinary Conference were quizzed about their knowledge of 
North Carolina rabies laws and rabies vaccination protocol. Test yourself and see how you 
would answer the questions below! The correct answer follows each question. 

1. Q.  Which North Carolina agency/department/organization “owns” rabies law?  

A.  The North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services is the state agency that 
has regulatory authority over the N.C. Rabies Laws located in Chapter 130A 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/statutes/statutestoc.pl?Chapter=0130A), the public 
health chapter of the N.C. General Statutes. Public health veterinarians in the Veterinary 
Public Health Program provide 24/7 consultations for human and animal rabies risk 
assessments to healthcare providers, local health departments, animal control, other 
state agencies, veterinarians and North Carolinians.   

2.  Q.  What’s the minimum legal age for a dog/cat/ferret residing in North Carolina to be 
vaccinated against rabies? 

 
A. According to N.C. G.S. 130A-185 

(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-185.pdf), the owner of any dog, cat or ferret over four (4) months of age shall keep 
their animal “currently” vaccinated against rabies. However, many rabies vaccines are 
licensed and approved for primary vaccination as early as three (3) months (12 weeks) 
of age. The owner would still be compliant with N.C. General Statutes if the animal were 
vaccinated between 3 and 4 months of age as indicated in the manufacturer’s package 
insert. See the current NASPHV Rabies Compendium 
(http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf) for a list of 
USDA-licensed vaccines by manufacturer, species, duration of immunity, and age of 
primary vaccination. This information is also available in the vaccine manufacturers’ 
package inserts. 

 
3.  Q.  How soon after the initial rabies vaccination is a dog/cat considered immunized? 
 

A. According to N.C. G.S. 130A-197 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-197.pdf). when a dog, cat or ferret that has not been previously vaccinated against 
rabies receives a primary rabies vaccination, the animal is considered “currently 
vaccinated” against rabies 28 days after the date of that initial, or primary, rabies 
vaccination. It is important to emphasize to owners that they should particularly carefully 
supervise their animals during those 28 days, because the animal will not be considered 
immunized and “current” in the eyes of the law, if exposed to rabies during that time. In 
the unfortunate event that the “not currently vaccinated” animal is exposed to or 
potentially exposed to rabies, the animal may be subject to euthanasia or a quarantine of 
up to six (6) months, depending on the circumstances (at the owner’s expense). This 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/gascripts/statutes/statutestoc.pl?Chapter=0130A
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-197.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-197.pdf
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statute is usually enforced by animal control under the authority and direction of the local 
health director. 

 
4. Q.  Under what circumstances can a rabies titer (Kansas State University, Rabies 

Laboratory) be substituted for rabies vaccination in a dog? …in a cat?  
 

A. North Carolina General Statutes and regulations do not allow substitution of rabies 
antibody titers (which indicate the presence of circulating rabies antibodies in the animal) 
for a current rabies vaccination. All owners of dogs, cats and ferrets shall have their 
animals currently vaccinated against rabies by 4 months of age, according to G.S. 130A-
185 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-185.pdf).  

 
According to the Compendium of Animal Rabies Prevention and Control 
(http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf) rabies “titers do 
not directly correlate with protection because other immunologic factors also play an 
important role in preventing rabies and our abilities to measure and interpret those other 
factors are not well-developed.”, These factors include the animal’s health, immune 
status, presence of chronic and/or immune-compromising diseases or conditions, age 
and genetics. ”Therefore, evidence of circulating rabies virus antibodies in animals 
should not be used as a substitute for current vaccination in managing rabies exposures 
or determining the need for a booster vaccination.”  

 
 Some rabies-free jurisdictions (i.e., Hawaii, Guam, Japan, St. Kitts and Nevis, Australia, 

New Zealand, France, and the United Kingdom) require the Fluorescent Antibody Virus 
Neutralization (FAVN) test for dogs and cats to qualify for a reduced quarantine period 
prior to entry into those jurisdictions. When importing or traveling with pets, always check 
with the destination authority to verify pet importation requirements. FAVN test results 
are provided in the United States by Kansas State University and the Department of 
Defense (DoD) [military members only]. You may direct questions about the FAVN to: 

 
Kansas State University ()  
2005 Research Park Circle 
Manhattan, KS 66502 
Email: rabies@vet.k-state.edu 
Phone: 785-532-4483 
Fax: 785-532-4474 
Fax: 785-532-4522 

 
5.  Q.  What are the legal implications for a 5-year old pet dog that is provoked by and 

bites a neighbor’s child,  
  (a) If the dog’s rabies vaccination status is current? 
  (b) If the dog is overdue for a 3-year rabies booster by only five days? 
 

A. The response is the same for both (a) and (b). Any domestic dog, cat or ferret, 
regardless of vaccination status, that bites a person shall be immediately confined for 10 
days in a place designated by the local health director (N.C. G.S. 130A-196, 
www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_1
30A-196.pdf). After reviewing the circumstances of the particular case, the local health 
director may allow the owner to confine the animal on the owner's property. 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf
mailto:rabies@vet.k-state.edu
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-196.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-196.pdf
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6.  Q.  TRUE or FALSE? In North Carolina, a dog that is imported by its owner from 

 Japan must be quarantined at home for one month, must be examined by a 
licensed veterinarian at the beginning and the end of the quarantine period, and, if 
deemed healthy, must receive a single dose of rabies vaccine at the completion of 
the quarantine period.  

 
A. False.  

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) animal importation 
regulations (www.cdc.gov/animalimportation/BringingAnimalToUs.html), dogs must have 
a certificate showing they have been vaccinated against rabies at least 30 days prior to 
entry into the United States. These requirements apply equally to service animals, such 
as service animals for people with disabilities. However, dogs not accompanied by proof 
of rabies vaccination, including those that are too young to be vaccinated (i.e., less than 
3 months of age), may be admitted if the importer completes a confinement agreement 
(http://www.cdc.gov/importation/laws-and-regulations/dog-confinement-
agreements.html) and confines the animal until it is considered adequately vaccinated 
and immunized against rabies (the vaccine is not considered effective until 30 days after 
the date of vaccination). 

North Carolina General Statute 130A-193 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-193.pdf) requires that all domestic dogs, cats, and ferrets entering North Carolina 
must have a health certificate issued by a licensed veterinarian within 30 days of the 
date of entry into the state, and animals four months of age and older must also have a 
current rabies vaccination and rabies certificate. 

Rabies vaccines used in countries outside of the United States typically are specific to 
the regulatory requirements of that country and are not licensed by the United States 
Department of Agriculture Center for Veterinary Biologics (CVB). G.S. 130A-185 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-185.pdf) requires that only animal rabies vaccine licensed by the United States 
Department of Agriculture and approved by the Commission shall be used on animals in 
this state. G.S. 130A-190 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-190.pdf) further states that dogs shall wear rabies vaccination tags at all times. 
Cats and ferrets must wear rabies vaccination tags unless they are exempt from wearing 
the tags by local ordinance. To maintain compliance with state law, the N.C. Veterinary 
Public Health Program recommends that owners of dogs and cats being imported into 
North Carolina from outside of the United States establish a relationship with a 
veterinarian with one week of entry into the state, have their animal vaccinated if it is 3 
months of age or older with a USDA-licensed rabies vaccine, and be issued a rabies tag. 
Owners should be reminded to retain the original of the rabies vaccination certificate 
indefinitely as proof of the animal’s rabies vaccination. 

 
7.  Q.  Regarding rabies vaccination, what are the implications for the owner of a 1-year 

old healthy dog, with no prior history of rabies vaccination that has recently been 
relocated to North Carolina from Virginia? 

 

http://www.cdc.gov/animalimportation/BringingAnimalToUs.html
http://www.cdc.gov/importation/laws-and-regulations/dog-confinement-agreements.html
http://www.cdc.gov/importation/laws-and-regulations/dog-confinement-agreements.html
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-193.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-193.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-190.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-190.pdf
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A. Pursuant to G.S. 130A-193 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-193.pdf), dogs, cats and ferrets (≥ 4 months of age) imported into North Carolina 
from another state shall be currently vaccinated against rabies. All animals vaccinated 
with USDA-licensed rabies vaccines administered by a licensed veterinarian, and 
accompanied by a current rabies certificate verifying the vaccination, are recognized. If 
an animal that is not currently vaccinated enters North Carolina, the owner has a one-
week grace period by law to visit a veterinarian and have the pet vaccinated; the statute 
then requires that the animal be confined at the owner’s home for an additional two 
weeks. If the imported animal is less than 3 months of age, it shall be confined at the 
owner’s home, vaccinated between 3 and 4 months of age, and then confined for an 
additional two weeks by the owner. The animal is not considered “currently vaccinated” 
until 28 days after its primary rabies vaccination. 

 
8.  Q. In North Carolina, what procedure exists for a licensed veterinarian to exempt a 

dog/cat from the rabies vaccination requirement if, on examination, the patient is 
deemed too ill/sick to vaccinate? 

 
A. There is no legally accepted exemption or waiver of rabies vaccination for dogs, cats, or 

ferrets in North Carolina. N.C. General Statute 130A-185 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-185.pdf) requires that owners of all dogs, cats, and ferrets 4 months of age and 
older keep their animals’ rabies vaccinations current. The intent of the rabies laws is to 
protect both domestic animals and the public against rabies. It is important to emphasize 
to owners, that if, against the advice of a veterinarian, they elect not to vaccinate their 
animals, they will not be in compliance with state law and if an exposure or a potential 
exposure to rabies occurs to their “not currently vaccinated” pet, the pet shall be subject 
to legal measures that include euthanasia, up to 6 months of quarantine or an 
observation period (depending on the circumstances) at the discretion of the local health 
director, according to G.S. 130A-197 
(www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_
130A-197.pdf).  

 
9.  Q.  In North Carolina, can a three-year rabies vaccine be substituted for a one-year 

rabies vaccine? …can a one-year rabies vaccine be substituted for a three-year 
rabies vaccine? 

 
A. The specifics regarding administration of rabies vaccines are not addressed in North 

Carolina General Statutes. Rabies vaccines are recommended to be administered per 
vaccine label and manufacturer’s package insert. The booster interval and duration of 
immunity are found in the manufacturers’ package insert and should be adhered to. A 
three-year rabies vaccine can be used as the primary vaccine in an animal (not 
previously vaccinated); however, the duration of immunity for any primary vaccine is one 
year and a booster will still be required within one year to complete the initial series. If a 
one-year vaccine is used to booster an animal that should or could have received a 
three-year booster vaccine, then the animal will have to receive another booster within 
one (1) year, ideally with a three-year vaccine to ensure the longest potential duration of 
immunity, if applicable to the species. The rabies vaccination certificate should always 
reflect appropriately the duration of immunity of the vaccine administered as indicated by 
the expiration date. Please note that, by state code (10A NCAC 41G .0101), rabies 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-193.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-193.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-185.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-197.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-197.pdf


 

 
N.C. Rabies Control Manual – Animal Rabies Vaccination: Guidance for Veterinarians  
August 2016 
Page 5 of 6 

vaccines administered by a certified rabies vaccinator, or CRV, are valid for only one 
year from the date of vaccination regardless of manufacturer label. 

 
10. Q: A 2-year-old cat, currently vaccinated for rabies, catches and kills a bat 

(determined to be rabies POSITIVE). Which of the following must happen? Check 
all that apply: 

 Cat must be quarantined in a designated holding facility for 6 months. 

 Cat must be home-quarantined for 10 days. 

 Cat must receive a single post-exposure rabies vaccine. 

 Cat must be euthanized and the brain submitted for rabies testing. 
 

A:  The correct answer is the third one: the cat must receive a single post-exposure rabies 
vaccine; the vaccination must occur within five (5) days of the exposure, as mandated in 
G.S. 130A-197 
(http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A
/GS_130A-197.pdf).  

 
 In addition, N.C. Veterinary Public Health recommends the following postexposure 

management and confinement guidance provided in the current NASPHV Rabies 
Compendium (http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf): 
(3) Dogs, cats, and ferrets that are currently vaccinated should immediately receive 
veterinary care and be administered a booster rabies vaccine within 96 hours after the 
exposure; and be kept under the owner’s observation for 45 days. The rationale for an 
observation period is based in part on the potential for: overwhelming viral challenge, 
incomplete vaccine efficacy, improper vaccine administration, variable host 
immunocompetence, and immune-mediated fatality (i.e., early death phenomenon). 

 
11. Q: If a dog is six months overdue for a booster dose of rabies vaccine, can a three-

year rabies vaccine be administered and the dog considered immunized for the 
next three years? 

 
A: N.C. General Statutes do not address lapses in rabies vaccinations. N.C. Veterinary 

Public Health follows the guidance provided by the current NASPHV Compendium of 
Animal Rabies Prevention and Control 
(http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf), because a rapid 
anamnestic response is expected, “an animal is considered currently vaccinated 
immediately after a booster vaccination.” 

and 
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention makes the following recommendations: 

 “All dogs, cats, and ferrets should be vaccinated and revaccinated against rabies 
according to product label directions. If a previously vaccinated animal is overdue for a 
booster, it should be revaccinated. Immediately following the booster, the animal is 
considered currently vaccinated and should be placed on a vaccination schedule 
according to the labeled duration of the vaccine used.” 

 
12. Q: What if the dog above is two years overdue for a “booster” dose of rabies 

vaccine? …five years overdue? 
 

A: Veterinary professional discretion is recommended when treating patients. When you 
are in doubt about the legal implications of veterinary practice actions, N.C. Veterinary 

http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-197.pdf
http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/EnactedLegislation/Statutes/PDF/BySection/Chapter_130A/GS_130A-197.pdf
http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf
http://www.nasphv.org/Documents/NASPHVRabiesCompendium.pdf
http://www.cdc.gov/rabies/specific_groups/veterinarians/vaccination.html
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Public Health recommends that you contact your AVMA PLIT and N.C. Veterinary 
Medical Board. Many factors should be considered when evaluating an animal’s immune 
status and whether or not to restart a rabies vaccine series. Rabies vaccines are highly 
immunogenic, but there may be confounding circumstances and health conditions that in 
the veterinarian’s professional medical assessment and judgment compromise the 
animal’s immune system. Factors to be considered when deciding if a booster 
vaccination is appropriate include: long lapses after a primary vaccine (greater than 
three years), geriatric animals, acute and chronic illnesses/diseases of animals, and 
whether an animal is immune-compromised or on immune-suppressive therapy. 
 

 
 
Contact Information: 
 
Questions pertaining to the interpretation and application of rabies vaccination law for 
domestic pets in North Carolina should be directed to:  
 

Veterinary Public Health 
Division of Public Health - Epidemiology Section 
N.C. Department of Health and Human Services 
1902 Mail Service Center 
Raleigh NC 27699-1902 
Phone: (919) 733-3419 (24/7) 
Fax: (919) 733-9555 
 


